Skip to content
Nan Goldin Receives the Edward MacDowell Medal

Artist Page
Nan Goldin

Nan Goldin Receives the Edward MacDowell Medal

The MacDowell Colony has presented the 2012 Edward MacDowell Medal to Nan Goldin in a public ceremony on the colony's grounds in Peterborough, New Hampshire, at 12:15 PM on August 12. Since 1960, the colony has awarded the medal annually in recognition of an artist's outstanding contribution to his or her field. Previous recipients include Leonard Bernstein, Merce Cunningham, Lee Friedlander, Robert Frost, Jasper Johns, Georgia O'Keeffe, I.M. Pei, and Sonny Rollins. Goldin will be only the fourth photographer to receive the prize. For more information, please visit the MacDowell Colony's website.

Image: Portrait of Nan Goldin. © Markus Jans